Drepung Monpictures 4astery :

Situated 5 kms’ distance to the western suburb of Lhasa at the foot of Mt. Ganpoi Uze. Drepung Monastery was founded in 1416 by Jamyang Choje, a disciple Tsongkapa, the founder of Gelugpa Sect. The Monastery , occupying an area of 250,000 sq. m. with a fixed number of 7,700 monks, is the largest monastery in Tibet .

The monastery keeps plentiful historical relics. Buddhist scriptures, arts and crafts.


Shalu Monastery :

Shalu MonasteryLying 20 kilometers (12 miles) south of Shigatse, the monastery was founded in 1040 by Chetsun Sherab Jungnay. Shalu, meaning New Bud in Tibetan, was named after a story. His teacher suggested him to built a monastery where his arrow hit. The flying arrow finally hit a new bud. In 1320, ButonRinpoche,

Samye Monastery :

Samye monasterySituated in Dranang, Samye Monastery was completed in 779 under the patron ofTrisong Detsen. At the time of Samye’s construction, Buddhism had been transmitted into Tibet , but there were no formal Buddhist priests or rituals. Trisong Detsen decided to invite Santarakshita and Padmasambhava, both Buddhist figureheads in India ,

Sera monastery :

Sera monastryThe Sera Monastery is one of the great monasteries. Like a garden of religious activity, it drew students from the far corners of Tibet . Founded in 1419 by Sakya Yeshe, Sera are one of the best-preserved monasteries in the country. Its principle buildings were miraculously spared during the Cultural Revolution and a few hundred monks live there today.

Kumbu Monastery:

Kumbum MonasteryThe Kubum Monastery was built in the 15th century, It is situated in the west of Gyantse Town With mountains enclosing from the east, west and north 3 sides, its uniqueness is that its three Sects of Buddhism-shaja, Ningma and Guolu are living harmoniously under one roof. Each sect Has 6-7 courtyards in the monastery.

Sakya Monastery :

Sakya MonasteryLocated in Sakya County , the monastery stood in two parts on either side of Dongchu River . This monastery is the center of the Sakyapa Sect (White Earth Order). The northern part of the monastery was built in the year 1079 and the southern part founded in 1268 by a famous abbot of Sakya named Pagpa who once had ruled

Tashilunpo Monastery:

tashilunpoThe Tashilhunpo Monastery sprawls on the slope of Mt.Niser, southwest of Shigatse .It covers an area of about 300,000 square meters with a floor space of about 30,000 sqiare ,eters. Painted in red and white, the buildings in the monastery stand closely together in terraced rows,offering a grand and majestic view.